Skip to content ↓


Who is in Oak Class?

Oak Class is taught by Miss Boyd. Our teaching assistant Mrs Kitka supports with different lessons over the week, but supports every day with Guided Reading.

The children in Oak Class are in:

Year 5 and Year 6 (sometimes referred to as Upper Key Stage 2)

What do they learn?

Being in Year 5 and 6 is truly the most memorable time in your child's primary education. Year 5/6 follow statutory schemes of learning (National Curriculum) set out by the government. Some learning is taught discretely as separate subjects, whilst others are driven by an overarching theme. The discrete teaching of English and Maths takes place in the mornings and the foundation subjects are taught during the afternoon. Being in Year 5/6 is a key moment in your child's life; they will develop more independence, a huge amount of resilience and, most importantly, they will become aware of who they are as both learners and as young adults.

Key Stage 2 SATS

In the summer term, children in Year 6 will take their end of Key Stage tests in:

  • Reading
  • Maths (Arithmetic and Reasoning)
  • Spelling, punctuation and grammar

These Statutory Assessment Tests (SATS) are used to measure your child's progress and the school's performance. Your child's results will be used in conjunction with teacher assessment to give a broader picture of their attainment. These tests also give secondary schools a benchmark to compare against, when your child  leaves Year 6 and makes the journey  to KS3!